Nederlands English
Polish Leszek Kuzaj won an icy first 2005 Belgian Rally
With snow, ice and very low temperatures, the 1st Ardenne Bleue Rally - a new event
ran partly on ex-Boucles de Spa roads and on F1-track of Spa-Francorchamps - had
a kind of <>. Polish Leszek Kuzaj (Subaru Impreza WRX) won the rally
after wrestling during two intensive days with Pieter Tsjoen (Toyota Corolla WRC),
Bernard Munster (Subaru Impreza WRC) and Larry Cols (Subaru Impreza GT).
Saturday morning, Pieter Tsjoen - 2004 Belgian champion - made a good start, leading the pack before the first stage on F1-track of Spa-Francorchamps. There, Tsjoen hit a snow wall and lost one minute.
Larry Cols became the new leader but he first hit a stone, losing a wheel, before slipping of the road.
Leszek Kuzaj took the first place by the end of the day. Saturday evening, he parked his car in the <> with and advance of 14 seconds on Tsjoen. Sunday, Tsjoen was chasing Kuzaj when he suffered a gearbox failure, making him losing one minute.
Then he went off and lose ten minutes in the snow. Kuzaj won the rally in front of Bernard Munster who never had a good feeling at the wheel of his new Subaru Impreza WRC... ex-Kuzaj ! Third is Bob Colsoul (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo8) in front of Yanick Bodson (Audi S2), Pieter Tsjoen and Kris Princen (Renault Clio RS).
Final standing Ardenne Bleue Rally (1st Belgian Championship round)
1. Kuzaj-Szczepaniak (Subaru Impreza WRX); 2. Munster-Leyh (Subaru Impreza WRC);
3. Colsoul-Jamoul (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo8); 4. Bodson-Dejalle (Audi S2); 5. Tsjoen-
Chevaillier (Toyota Corolla WRC); 6. Princen-Loix (Renault Clio RS); 7. Bouche-Gilsoul
(Renault Clio Super 1600); 8. Schammel-Maraite (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo8); 9.
Boelens-Degandt (Citroen C2); 10. Van Lancker-Declerck (Citroen C2); 11. Duez-
Muth (Porsche 911 GT3)... (40 classified)
Retirements : SS9 Bernd Casier (Toyota Corolla WRC) off the road - SS10 Larry Cols (Subaru Impreza) off the road